News Flash

Parks & Community Services

Posted on: December 20, 2023

2024 Free Park Days

Lake_Sammamish_Beach_Family_Walking

Another reason to explore all that our beautiful state has to offer! On these days, no Discover Pass is needed to park on lands managed by Washington State Parks, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and the Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR).

The 2024 Discover Pass free days are: 

  • Monday, Jan. 1 - First Day Hikes and New Year’s Day  
  • Monday, Jan. 15 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day  
  • Saturday, March 9 - Billy Frank Junior’s Birthday  
  • Tuesday, March 19 - State Parks’ 111th Birthday  
  • Monday, April 22 - Earth Day  
  • Saturday, June 8 - National Get Outdoors Day  
  • Sunday, June 9 - Free Fishing Day  
  • Wednesday, June 19 - Juneteenth  
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 - National Public Lands Day  
  • Thursday, Oct. 10 - World Mental Health Day  
  • Monday, Nov. 11 - Veterans Day 
  • Friday, Nov. 29 - Autumn Day 

Details

Free days apply only to day use (not overnight stays or rented facilities).

Note that the free days do not apply to Sno-Parks. During the winter season, November through April, visitors to Sno-Parks will need Sno-Park permits, which are available for purchase online or from vendors throughout the state.

About the Discover Pass 

State lands free days align with 2011 legislation that created the Discover Pass, which costs $30 to $35 annually, or $10 to $11.50 for a one-day visit, depending on point of purchase. The pass is required for vehicle access to state recreation lands managed by Washington State Parks, WDFW and DNR. The Discover Pass legislation directed State Parks to designate up to 12 free days when the pass would not be required to visit state parks. 

Discover Pass

Other News in Parks & Community Services

March_topnews_

Senior Center: March Newsletter is Here!

Posted on: February 21, 2024
Stephane

Forest Steward Spotlight: Stephane

Posted on: January 24, 2024
CIT_newsitem

Apply to be a CIT

Posted on: January 12, 2024
Farmers Market_topnews

Farmers Market: Vendor Applications Open

Posted on: December 21, 2023