Applicants with no prior experience must be at least 21 years of age, with no felony convictions and must have or be able to obtain a valid Washington state driver's license. Applicant must be a U.S. citizen.
Entry-level officers will attend the 720-hour Basic Law Enforcement Academy while being paid by the department. Upon graduation from the Basic Law Enforcement Academy, entry-level officers will be placed in a 15-week field training program.
Entry-level officers are on probation for 17 months from the date of hire.
A lateral, or experienced police officer, must have successfully completed an accredited police basic training academy curriculum and have a minimum of 12 months of full-time service within the last 36 months (prefer current) as a sworn municipal or county officer.
Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and have or be able to obtain a valid Washington state driver's license. Applicants must be a U.S. citizen.
A lateral officer whose state certification is recognized by the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission does not have to attend the basic academy. Out-of-state laterals must pass the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission's 80-hour Equivalency Academy.
Lateral officers are on probation for 12 months from the date of hire.